Moon Duo have announced their new album, Stars Are The Light which will be out on September 27th via Sacred Bones.  You can get a preview of the album with the gentle title track below.  Stars Are The Light is the ever busy Ripley Johnson and Sanae Yamada’s 7th outing together and focuses itself on some fairly heady subject matter. According to the press release, Stars Are The Light has a sonic physicality that is at once propulsive and undulating; it puts dance at the heart of an expansive nexus that connects the body to the stars. These are songs about embodied human experience — love, change, misunderstanding, internal struggle, joy, misery, alienation, discord, harmony, celebration — rendered as a kind of dance of the self, both in relation to other selves and to the eternal dance of the cosmos. 

Taking disco as its groove-oriented departure point, Stars Are the Light shimmers with elements of ’70s funk and ’90s rave. Johnson’s signature guitar sound is at its most languid and refined, while Yamada’s synths and oneiric vocals are foregrounded to create a spacious percussiveness that invites the body to move with its mesmeric rhythms. With Sonic Boom (Spacemen 3Spectrum) at the mixing desk in Portugal’s Serra de Sintra, (known to the Romans as “The Mountains of the Moon”) the area’s lush landscape and powerful lunar energies exerted a strong influence on the vibe and sonic texture of the album. Wow.


Stars Are The Light
 Tracklist:

1. Flying
2. Stars Are The Light
3. Fall In Your Love
4. The World And The Sun
5. Lost Heads
6. Eternal Shore
7. Eye 2 Eye
8. Fever Night 

Moon Duo Tour Dates:

Thu. Oct. 17 – Ghent, BE @ Videodroom
Fri. Oct. 18 – Krakow, PL @ Malopolski Garden Of The Arts
Sun. Oct. 20 – Amsterdam, DK @ Paradiso Noord
Mon. Oct. 21 – Berlin, DE @ Volksbuhne
Wed. Oct. 23 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Thu. Oct. 24 – Vevey, CH @ Rocking Chair
Sat. Oct. 26 – Angers, FR @ Le Chabada
Mon. Oct. 28 – London, UK @ Earth
Tue. Oct. 29 – Manchester, UK @ Dancehouse
Wed. Oct. 30 – Liverpool, UK @ Invisible Wind Factory
Thu. Oct. 31 – Glasgow, UK @ BAAD
Fri. Nov. 1 – Birmingham, UK @ The Crossing
Sat. Nov. 2 – Leeds, UK @ BrudenellMon. Nov. 4 – Brighton, UK @ St. Bartholomew’s Church
Tue. Nov. 5 – Paris, FR @ Petit Bain
Sat. Nov. 9 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who
Tue. Nov. 12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Wed. Nov. 13 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Thu. Nov. 14 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Fri. Nov. 15 – Kingston, NY @ BSP
Sat. Nov. 16 – Montreal, QC @ SAT
Mon. Nov. 18 – Toronto, ON @ Longboat Hall
Tue. Nov. 19 – Detroit, MI @ MOCAD
Wed. Nov. 20 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Fri. Nov. 22 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Mon. Nov. 25 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Tue. Nov 26 – Seattle, WA @ NeumosWed. Nov. 27 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood