Ryley Walker has shared his second single, “Opposite Middle” from his upcoming album, Deafman Glance, which is out May 18th courtesy of Dead Oceans. Walker says of the tune, “Opposite Middle’ was the last tune written for the record,” says Ryley. “At first it was slow. Like crawling pace. What a bummer that would have been, yeah? Somehow it worked itself out to become the only bonafide fast jammer on the record. I was thinking a lot about making my brain work better and the guitar playing of David Grubbs and Steve Hackett. I can’t play as well as either of them but I was thinking about it. Thank you for scoping this out. Really appreciate it. This one is fun to play live. Really can’t wait for the gigs.”

Deafman Glance is the second Ryley Walker album produced by LeRoy Bach and Walker himself. It was largely recorded at the Minbal (now JAMDEK) Studios in Chicago. Some later sessions also took place at USA Studios and in LeRoy’s kitchen. Cooper Crain (Bitchin’ Bajas, Cave) recorded and mixed the album, as well as adding his shimmering synths all over it. Ryley plays electric & acoustic guitars and was joined by long-time 6-string sparring partners, Brian J Sulpizio and Bill Mackay, who both play electric. LeRoy Bach also plays some electric guitar, whilst adding all piano and other keys. Andrew Scott Young and Matt Lux play bass – Andrew supplying some double-bass, both of them played electric. Drums / percussion are handled by Mikel Avery and Quin Kirchner. Topping off this list of notorious Chi-Town players is Nate Lepine, who added a lot of flute and a little saxophone too.

Deafman Glance will be available digitally, on CD and on LP, which was cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios in London, using his half-speed mastering method for the greatest possible audio detail and fidelity.

Ryley Walker Tour Dates:
Tue. Apr. 10 – Columbia, MO @ Cafe Berlin
Wed. Apr. 11 – Oklahoma City, OK @ 89th Street Collective
Fri. Apr. 13 – Marfa, TX @ Ballroom Marfa (Marfa Myths Fest)
Sun. Apr. 15 – Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress
Mon. Apr. 16 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
Tue. Apr. 17 – Los Angeles, CA @ Resident
Thu. Apr. 19 – El Paso, TX @ Tricky Falls *
Sat. Apr. 21 – Tulsa, OK @ The Vanguard *
Sun. Apr. 22 – St. Louis, MO @ Blueberry Hill *
Mon. Apr. 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Line Music Café *
Wed. Apr. 25 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *
Thu. Apr. 26 – Cincinnati, OH @ The Woodward Theater *
Fri. Apr. 27 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre *
Sat. Apr. 28 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg *
Sun. Apr. 29 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *
Mon. Apr. 30 – Woodstock, NY @ Colony
Tue. May 1 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. May 2 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live *
Thu. May 3 – Charlottesville, VA @ Jefferson Theater *
Fri. May 4 – Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight
Sat. May 5 – Raleigh, NC @ Kings
Sun. May 6 – Columbia, SC @ IF Art Gallery
Mon. May 7 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West *
Mon. May 8 – Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge *
Fri. May 18 – Chicago, IL @ Hungry Brain (Record Release Show)
Sat. May 19 – Chicago, IL @ Hungry Brain (Record Release Show)
Sun. July 15 – Bruges, Belgium @ Cactus Festival
Wed. July 18 – Helsinki, Finland @ G Livelab
Thu. July 19-Sun. July 22 – Salisbury, UK @ Larmer Tree Festival
Sun. July 22 – Leeuwarden, Netherlands @ Welcome To The Village Festival
Tue. July 24 – Munich, Germany @ Milla
Thu. July 26 – Ravenna, Italy @ Hana-bi
Wed. Sept. 12 – Memphis, TN @ Hi-Tone Café
Thu. Sept. 13 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Fri. Sept. 14 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Sat. Sept. 15 – Dallas, TX @ The Foundry
Tue. Sept. 18 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Fri. Sept. 21 – San Francisco @ The Chapel
Sat. Sept. 22 – Big Sur, CA @ Freaks of The Festival
Mon. Sept. 24 – Portland, OR @ Bunk Bar
Tue. Sept. 25 – Vancouver, BC @ Wise Hall
Wed. Sept. 26 – Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern
Thu. Sept. 27 – Boise, ID @ Idaho Botanical Gardens – Great Escape Series
Fri. Sept. 28 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Sat. Sept. 29 – Denver, CO @ Globe Hall
Sun. Sept. 30 – Fort Collins, CO @ Downtown Artery
Tue. Oct. 2 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Wed. Oct. 3 – Sioux Falls, SD @ Total Drag
Thu. Oct. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry
Fri. Oct. 5 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
Sat. Oct. 6 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Backroom @ Colectivo
Tue. Nov. 6 – Berlin, Germany @ Frannz Club
Wed. Nov. 7 – Aarhus, Denmark @ Atlas
Thu. Nov. 8 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ Vega
Fri. Nov. 9-Sat. Nov. 10 – Wangels, Germany @ Rolling Stone Weekender
Tue. Nov. 13 – Brussels, Belgium @ Botanique
Wed. Nov. 14 – Köln, Germany @ Artheater
Thu. Nov. 15 – Bern, Switzerland @ ISC Club
Fri. Nov. 16 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Bogen F
Fri. Nov. 16-Sat. Nov. 17 – Rust, Germany @ Rolling Stone Park
Mon. Nov. 19 – Barcelona, Spain @ Sidecar
Tue. Nov. 20 – Madrid, Spain @ El Intruso
Wed. Nov. 21 – Sevilla, Spain @ Sala X
Thu. Nov. 22 – Lisbon, Portugal @ ZDB
Sat. Nov. 24 – San Sebastian, Spain @ Badabada
Tue. Nov. 27 – London, UK @ Scala
Wed. Nov. 28 – Bristol, UK @ The Fleece
Thu. Nov. 29 – Manchester, UK @ Band On The Wall
Fri. Nov. 30 – Brighton, UK @ The Old Market
Sat. Dec. 1 – Paris, France @ Point Ephemere
Sun. Dec. 2 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso Noord

* w/Calexico