Sam Evian does a fairly spare and winsome performance of both Messrs Young and Cale on his songs for the Lagniappe Sessions. Isn’t that what you want to hear on a Monday? Spare and Winsome? It’s usually my type of Monday jam so I hope you can share my pleasure by presenting it to you.

Listen To Sam Evian’s Aquarium Drunkard’s Lagniappe Session –
https://aquariumdrunkard.com/2018/07/16/the-lagniappe-sessions-sam-evian/

Last month saw the release of You, Forever, the sophomore album by Sam Evian, the project of New York-based musician, songwriter, and producer, Sam Owens, via Saddle Creek. Following the release of You, Forever, Owens now presents his own interpretations of Neil Young’s “Unknown Legend” and John Cale’s “You Know More Than I Know” for Aquarium Drunkard’s Lagniappe Sessions.

In addition to sharing these covers, Sam Evian has announced a fall tour which will take Owens’ and his band around North America and Europe. Before then, Sam Evian kicks off a string of west coast dates with a performance on KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic on Wednesday, July 18th and a special show at Los Angeles’ Hammer Museum on Thursday, July 19th. All dates can be found below.

You, Forever, is Owens’ first foray into a more soul-baring sensibility. As it has been said: no matter where you go, there you are. With You, Forever, Sam Evian is here to add some eternity to that sentiment. “This is you, forever,” he says. “It’s about accepting that you are responsible for you, that you’re in charge of your actions. Everything you do affects others and yourself, so, no matter what you choose to do, be there and learn from it.” It’s a mantra that powers Owens and is echoed across You, Forever.

Sam Evian Tour Dates:

Thu. July 19 – Los Angeles, LA @ Hammer Museum
Fri. July 20 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel
Mon. July 23 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. July 24 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Wed. Sept. 19 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery *
Thurs. Sept 20 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle *
Fri. Sept 21 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn *
Sat. Sept. 22 – Oxford, MS @ Proud Larry’s *
Tue. Sept. 25 – San Antonio, TX @ Limelight *
Wed. Sept. 26 – Austin, TX @ 3TEN ACL Live *
Thu. Sept. 27 – Dallas, TX @ Double-Wide *
Mon. Oct. 1 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club *
Tues. Oct. 2 – Evanston, IL @ SPACE *
Wed. Oct 3 – Grand Rapids, MI @ The Mint *
Thurs. Oct 4 – Toronto, ON @ The Rivoli *
Fri. Oct 5 – Montreal, ON @ La Vitrola *
Sat. Oct 6 – Burlington, VT @ ArtsRiot *
Tues. Oct 16 – Edinburgh, UK @ Sneaky Pete’s
Wed. Oct 17 – Glasgow, UK @ The Old Hair Dressers
Thurs. Oct 18 – Newcastle, UK @ The Cluny 2
Fri. Oct 19 – Manchester, UK @ YES
Sun. Oct 21 – Leicester, UK @ The Cookie
Tues. Oct 23 – London, UK @ Hoxton Hall
Wed. Oct 24 – Brighton, UK @ The Hope & Ruin
Fri. Oct 26 – Amsterdam, NL @ London Calling festival
Sun. Oct 28 – Gent, BE @ Trefpunt
Wed. Oct 31 – Cologne, DE @ Acephale
Thurs. Nov 1 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain Kantine
Fri. Nov 2 – Hamburg, DE @ Nachtasyl

* = with Katie Von Schleicher