Tuesday, December 6, 2022

Boris cover “Funnel of Love” & Thou, Mizmor & Emma Ruth Rundell cover Zola Jesus’ “Night” for Sacred Bones 15th anniversary compilation


The new ‘Todo Muere SBXV’ compilation commemorates the 15th anniversary of Sacred Bones Records, and is due for release on May 27, 2022. It celebrates the eclectic threads that the label has cultivated over these past 15 years by asking artists on the label to cover one another’s songs. It’s an exhilarating, adventurous collection that emphasizes the spiritual unity of the roster. Listening to Todo Muere SBXV feels like sitting down to dinner with a large, unruly, loving family.

Today, two more tracks have been made available from the compilation: Boris has put their own expansive, crashing stamp on “Funnel Of Love,” honoring the Sqürl rendition that appeared on the soundtrack for 2013’s Jim Jarmusch-helmed Only Lovers Left Alive; the song was famously recorded by Wanda Jackson in 1960 and originally released the following year. Thou, Mizmor, and Emma Ruth Rundle joined forces for a wondrously heavy, guttural reinvention of “Night” originally by Zola Jesus, from 2010’s Stridulum EP.

Admiration and fandom were recurring themes for artists who recorded songs for the comp. Thou singer Bryan Funck shares: “Before I knew about Sacred Bones, I was a huge fan of Zola Jesus,” adding “her music was my entry ticket to becoming a fan of the label.”

On their cover of “Funnel of Love”, Boris comment: “We strived to reimagine this great rock classic and share its beauty with a new audience through a fresh interpretation.”

Listen to “Funnel of Love” by Boris – (cover of recording by SQÜRL, orig. by Wanda Jackson): https://youtu.be/y4T_XNdeRTs
Listen to “Night” by Thou, Mizmor, and Emma Ruth Rundle – (orig. Zola Jesus): https://youtu.be/p-P9v6WealI
Playlist: https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLcEzq3kN5MDcUIOvCtzB-trTMWkb7czYN
Pre-Order Todo Muere SBXV’https://geni.us/SBXVtodomuere
In March two singles from Todo Muere SBXV’ were made available: Marissa Nadler’s palpably shivering rendition of Cold Wind Blowin” originally by David Lynch (from 2013’s The Big Dream), and a propulsive interpretation of Zola Jesus’ anthemic I Can’t Stand” (from 2010’s Stridulum EP) by post-punk outfit The Hunt (whose “1000 Nights” 7” was notably the first-ever release from the label in 2007, when it was still called Monster Squad Records before changing names to Sacred Bones Records for its second release moving forward. The Hunt’s founders Jasper McGandy and Christian Kount went on to join Cult of Youth).

Sacred Bones will also celebrate their 15th anniversary as a label with a live event in NYC at the Knockdown Center on May 28th, featuring sets by artists on the Sacred Bones roster including Black Marble, Anika, SPELLING, Uniform, The Men, SQÜRL, and LD Deutsch, a Sacred Bones essayist, presenting a lecture on the kaleidoscopic nature of Time. Information here.
Todo Muere SBXV’ tracklisting:

  1. Boris – Funnel of Love (orig. SQÜRL)
  2. Anika – Godstar (orig. Psychic TV)
  3. The Hunt – I Can’t Stand (orig. Zola Jesus)
  4. Constant Smiles – Spells (orig. Jenny Hval)
  5. Dean Hurley – Our Day Will Come (orig. Mort Garson)
  6. Domingæ – Change (orig. Anika)
  7. Thou, Mizmor, and Emma Ruth Rundle – Night (orig. Zola Jesus)
  8. Hilary Woods – In Heaven (orig. David Lynch)
  9. Institute – Boys at School (orig. SPELLLING)
  10. Marissa Nadler – Cold Wind Blowin’ (orig. David Lynch)
  11. The Holydrug Couple – Coca Cola Blues (orig. Psychic Ills)

Vinyl variants:

  • Red – Indie store exclusive
  • Neon Pink and Black Splatter – Sacred Bones mail-order exclusive 
  • Pink and Magenta Starburst – Sacred Bones Record Society exclusive
  • Red and Gold splatter – Vinyl Me Please exclusive

Black and White Galaxy – Rough Trade exclusive

Greg Kinne
Greg Kinnehttp://culturefiend.net
Greg started Culture Fiend as a way to discuss the many facets of pop culture. Greg usually surrounds himself with Star Wars action figures, Legos and a healthy supply of interesting films and unusual records.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Stories