Sunday, November 27, 2022

Khruangbin Announce Dub Version of “Con Todo El Mundo”


Khruangbin are readying their latest release, Hasta El Cielo, the band’s dub version of their second album Con Todo El Mundo.  Hasta El Cielo will be available on July 12th via Dead Oceans/NightTime Stories.  You can preview the track “Mary Always” below.   

The band’s exotic, spacious, psychedelic funk aligns with the dub treatment particularly well. Indeed, keen fans won’t find this a surprising release. Dubs of tracks from their first album The Universe Smiles Upon You appeared on limited vinyl releases of “People Everywhere” for Record Store Day 2016 and “Zionsville” on the BoogieFuturo remix 12”. The especially eagle-eared will have caught a dub of “Two Fish And An Elephant” playing over the credits of the track’s celebrated video. 

“For us, Dub has always felt like a prayer. Spacious, meditative, able to transport the listener to another realm. The first dub albums we listened to were records mixed by Scientist featuring the music of the Roots Radics. Laura Lee learned to play bass by listening to Scientist Wins the World Cup. His unique mixing style, with the emphasis on space and texture, creates the feeling of frozen time; it was hugely influential to us as a band. To be able to work alongside Scientist, a legend in the history of dub, is an honor. This is our dub version of Con Todo El Mundo.” — Khruangbin

Formed of Laura Lee on bass, Mark Speer on guitar, and Donald “DJ” Johnson on drums; Khruangbin’s sounds are rooted in the deepest waters of music from around the world, infused with classic soul, dub and psychedelia. Since the release of Con Todo El Mundo, Khruangbin have continued their almost non-stop approach to touring, playing over 130 dates in 2018 alone, most of them selling out well in advance, including sold-out shows across North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia. Khruangbin closed out 2018 supporting Leon Bridges in North America, and have already graced the stages of numerous festivals this year, including CoachellaMarfa MythsFortress FestivalFORM ArcosantiLightning in a Bottle, and more. 

They’ll kick off their summer tour with select shows in the Northeastern US, including a sold out show at Central Park’s SummerStage in NYC, before heading overseas for festival performances at Green ManLatitudeMostly Jazz, Funk & Soul Festival and Barclaycard British Summer Time. They’ll return to North American to play Pitchfork Music FestivalPickathonLockn’, and THING. A full list of dates is below. 

Hasta El Cielo Tracklist:
01. With All The World 
02. Sisters & Brothers
03. Mary Always
04. Four of Five
05. How I Love
06. Sunny’s Vision
07. A La Sala
08. The Red Book
09. Order of Operations
010. Hasta El Cielo
11. Rules – Scientist Dub (Bonus Track)
12. Cómo Te Quiero – Scientist Dub (Bonus Track)

Greg Kinne
Greg Kinne
Greg started Culture Fiend as a way to discuss the many facets of pop culture. Greg usually surrounds himself with Star Wars action figures, Legos and a healthy supply of interesting films and unusual records.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Stories