Monday, June 27, 2022

The Smile To Tour North America

-

With their current UK/Europe tour underway — including a recent UK performance described by Clash magazine as “a masterclass and a privilege to behold” — The Smile has expanded its 2022 tour to include an extensive North American run.

Tickets for the newly announced dates will be on sale to the general public from June 17. A full listing of North American tour dates is below. For further information, pre-sales, etc., go to thesmiletheband.com.

Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood and Tom Skinner’s first tour of the U.S. and Canada as The Smile comes in support of the new band’s debut album, A Light for Attracting Attention, which was released digitally May 13 (and will be available in physical formats June 17th), via XL Recordings to unanimous accolades including:

“… a leaner take on Radiohead’s longstanding thoughts of alienation and malaise, pushing rhythm into the foreground”
—THE NEW YORK TIMES

“… a remarkably assured debut… The Smile contain multitudes.”
—PASTE

“Alternately combats the horrors of modern life with roiling anger and Zen-like serenity.”
—PITCHFORK

“Some of the songwriters’ most easily enjoyable music in years”
—ROLLING STONE

“A most welcome vibe flip from musicians who absolutely refuse to shy away from the unknown.”
—SPIN

“Sounds impeccable, perfectly balancing the delicacies of Greenwood’s circular, minor-key licks and Yorke’s choir-boy trilling with the more bombastic elements of the orchestra and brass sections… Skinner is too good of a drummer to be reduced to mere sideman… His spirited syncopations echo throughout the record, giving the music a relentless pull even when the music slows to an atmospheric, piano-based crawl.”
—UPROXX

“… an exceptional record… inhabiting a sound world of its own.”
—WALL STREET JOURNAL
Produced by Nigel Godrich and featuring additional critically acclaimed singles “You Will Never Work In Television Again,” “Skrting On The Surface,” “Pana-vision,” “Free In The Knowledge” and “Thin Thing,” A Light For Attracting Attention features strings by the London Contemporary Orchestra and a full brass section of contemporary UK jazz players including Byron Wallen, Theon and Nathaniel Cross, Chelsea Carmichael, Robert Stillman and Jason Yarde. The Smile began their 2022 European tour on May 16th in Croatia with UK dates in London, Edinburgh, and Manchester, before heading back into Europe, finishing their headline shows in Taormina, Sicily, on July 20thand with a final UK date in London’s All Points East on 28th August. 

THE SMILE
North American Tour 2022

Mon Nov 14 – Providence, RI @ Veterans Memorial Auditorium 
Wed Nov 16 – Boston, MA @ Roadrunner 
Fri Nov 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre 
Sun Nov 20 – New York, NY @ Hammerstein 
Wed Nov 23 – Washington, DC @ The Anthem 
Fri Nov 25  – Montreal, QC @ MTELUS
Sat Nov 26 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall  
Mon Nov 28 – Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple Theatre –
Tue Nov 29 – Milwaukee, WI @ Riverside Theater 
Thu Dec 01 – Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre 
Sat Dec 03 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium 
Sun Dec 04 – Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern 
Tue Dec 06 – New Orleans, LA @ Orpheum Theatre
Thu Dec 08 – Dallas, TX @ The Factory in Deep Ellum
Sat Dec 10 – Denver, CO @ Mission Ballroom 
Wed Dec 14 – Portland, OR @ Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall  
Fri Dec 16 – Seattle, WA @ WaMu Theater 
Sun Dec 18 – San Francisco, CA @ Bill Graham Civic Auditorium
Wed Dec 21 – Los Angeles, CA @ Shrine Auditorium

Greg Kinne
Greg Kinnehttp://culturefiend.net
Greg started Culture Fiend as a way to discuss the many facets of pop culture. Greg usually surrounds himself with Star Wars action figures, Legos and a healthy supply of interesting films and unusual records.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Stories