Sunday, June 26, 2022

Thom Yorke Announces Unreleased Suspiria Music


Thom Yorke is a crafty fellow. This announcement was made today and caught me unaware. February 22 will see the release of seven previously unheard recordings from Thom Yorke’s Suspiria… sessions. This 12” vinyl release from Thom and XL in partnership with The Vinyl Factory will be strictly limited to 1,500 copies and will consist of the following tracks:

Side A:
Unmade Overtones
Unused Spell
A Conversation With Just Your Eyes 

Side B:
Volk Spin Off V1
Volk Spin Off V2
Volk Spin Off V3

A very limited quantity will be available through independent retailers.
 Named by the AV CLUB as one of the best film soundtracks of 2018, Suspiria (Music for the Luca Guadagnino Film) was released October 26 on XL Recordings. The album consists of 25 original compositions written by Thom specifically for Guadagnino’s reimagining of the 1977 Dario Argento horror classic. The album is a mix of instrumental score work, interstitial pieces and interludes, and more traditional song structures featuring Thom’s vocals including “Open Again,” “Has Ended,” “Suspirium,” and “Unmade”–the latter two having recently been performed for the first time before live audiences on Thom’s current Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes tour.

Suspiria was written and arranged by Thom Yorke, recorded and produced by Thom and Sam Petts-Davies. The album also features the London Contemporary Orchestra and Choir, Noah Yorke on drums on “Volk” and “Has Ended,” and Pasha Mansurov on solo flute on “Suspirium.”

Suspiria (Music for the Luca Guadagnino Film) is available across digital platforms, as well as 2-LP gatefold package pink vinyl and 2-CD physical versions.

For further information go to

Greg Kinne
Greg Kinne
Greg started Culture Fiend as a way to discuss the many facets of pop culture. Greg usually surrounds himself with Star Wars action figures, Legos and a healthy supply of interesting films and unusual records.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Stories